Slow down, follies!

I guess it is a good thing, but I am very responsive to the Gonadotropin medication. For this cycle I have been on a very low dose, but many follicles are growing rapidly.

For those who are not familiar…Gonadotropins are medications used to stimulate the ovaries to help produce follicles. This medication is potent and can cause overstimulation of the ovaries which can produce multiple births which is why they monitor you so closely (every 2-3 days).

So I went in on Thursday for the stats…and right ovary follies 9,9,8,7 and left ovary follies 9,8 and estrogen level approx 450. He kept my dose low at 75IUs.

This morning I went in and right ovary follies 14.5,14,12.5,12,10 and left ovary follies 14,13,12.5 and estrogen level approx 750. What we are hoping for is a few follicles to break away from the pack and leave the others behind. If there are too many strong follicles, we will not continue with the cycle due to possibility of multiples. So my dose tonight is 37.5 and 75 on monday, then check stats again on tuesday.

I seem to be surprising the doc because I continue to be responding extremely well to the medication at such a low dose. What an over achiever I am, but I really don’t want to be in this situation!

I want this to work, please slow down follies!

*I know this is a lot of info, but wanted to explain in a little more detail in hopes that it may help someone out there!

2 responses to “Slow down, follies!

  1. Hi–I’m in Austin, too and linked to your blog from another blogger’s site. Sounds like you are doing really really well on the stims–hope some follies do their thing and break away so you can continue with the cycle and don’t wind up like Jon and Kate Plus 8 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Chrysalides.

Leave a Reply

