Detour.

Where do I start…I went to the docs office early this AM for a routine day 3 sonogram.  Based on the words from the sonotech “these ovaries were the easiest to find! No cysts!”, I was relieved and prepared to start the shots tonight after a call from the nurse with the dosage! WRONG.

Dr. S, himself called me and left a message…right away I knew it wasn’t good.  I called back and he basically said he just doesn’t know why this isn’t working for us. He said he went through my file again all the way back to cycles with my OBGYN. What concerns him is the left ovary that was stuck last time to my fallopian tube.  He thinks that if it is stuck again that he could pump all the hormones he wants into me, but if the eggs don’t have anywhere to go it is poitnless. He went over 3 options:

  • Continue with this cycle as is (Doc doesn’t see the point)
  • Laparoscopy: to check around and unstick ovary if necessary or clean out any endo that has returned.
  • IVF: but if endo has come back, it would decrease our chances 40%.

I totally appreciated this “free mini consult” as he termed it, but was completely taken aback.  I thanked him for taking the time to review my file and told him that I will do anything that he thinks will increase our chances.  That is when he said that he recommends Laparoscopy within the next 2 weeks because of where I am in my cycle and that he doesn’t want to lose another month.  Although I appreciate his urgency, I got totally stressed out about school and such.  After talking with my sister, she calmed me down and thought this was a good thing for him to take a look inside for himself.  Anyway, I am still trying to process it, but will probably have the surgery next Wednesday.

I guess we will wait and see what we will do after the surgery and see what he finds out…either injectibles or IVF.  We are going to get some good news soon, right?!?!?

7 responses to “Detour.

  1. Lifting you up in prayer now!

  2. I still believe my dream, you will have a baby! Good luck and keep me posted.

  3. I found your blog through ‘the waiting womb’ and have been following it for a couple of months now. I am so sorry for all that you are going through. I saw Dr S for 2 years, first for strictly the endometriosis and then for infertility. I have had 3 laps, 2 of which were done by him. He is a highly skilled surgeon and while my surgeries with him were more involved, my recovery was easier. He has a good technique to remove the yucky gas from your belly so you don’t have the chest and shoulder pain. I no longer live in Austin, but will travel back to have him perform any future surgeries. I hope that your surgery is successful, and that it sheds new light on your situation. One thing I learned about him rather quickly was his aggressiveness. It is a good thing, but can sometimes be very overwhelming. I’ll never forget the day he told us we should start right away with injectables instead of trying on our own. I am so thankful for that recommendation now, but at the time I was shocked! I am thinking of you. Feel free to email me if you like. Good luck!

  4. Ugh I’m sorry for the setback. But at least he’s being really honest with you. I did three IVFs with TFC and a different doc and while they did fix my endo first with a lap, I later wondered about pre-treatment with depot Lupron. That’s what I’m doing now on my final cycle (that we’re doing in Colorado). I think your doc is aggressive and that’s a good thing. Good luck!

  5. I understand your pain and frustration but wish you the best always. Thank you for continuing to share your journey. Your constant patience, positive outlook and attitude are so admirable. You are an amazing person.

  6. Sorry you got thrown for a loop with this unexpected detour, but I think it’s good the doctor is paying attention and wants to go in and check things out before you lose another month of hope that the cycle would work.

    Wishing you lots of luck!

  7. Bummer…another detour. Saying prayers for next week. Call me if you decide to go the IVF route.

Leave a Reply

